Back to Basics

Standard

I have been in a bit of a funk lately and really needed to get my ass in the kitchen and do some cooking. Problem was, I lacked motivation. I really didn’t feel like spending hours, or even A hour in the kitchen cooking something stunning. I am tired of being the only person in my house impressed by my cooking, since lets face it, the kids just don’t appreciate good food like I do. So tonight I wanted to keep it simple. And I did. And it was stunning. I turned on Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black album and went into the kitchen and got to cooking. I bought a huge bag of brussels sprouts last week and hadn’t used any yet, so I made Crispy Lemon Roasted Brussels Sprouts that I found here http://whatsgabycooking.com/crispy-lemon-roasted-brussels-sprouts/ and I made Spaghetti Aglio, Olio, e Peperoncino. Which means spaghetti with garlic, olive oil, and peppers. Oh my. So simple and yet so amazing. It took almost no time and yet I was blown away by how good it was. It will definitely be on my regular menu, and I have leftovers. Yay lunch!

So I put the brussels sprouts in the oven and mopped the floor for the first part of the roasting. Stirred them up a bit and started boiling the salted water for the pasta. While that was cooking I chopped up the garlic and danced around my house because Winehouse was amazing and the perfect mood lifter. I accidentally over roasted my sprouts so the were a little crispier than intended, but still amazing…or at least I thought so. My two older kids plugged their noses to eat them, but the younger two ate them up like candy. Such little foodies. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it helped me feel a little less down, even if I was the only adult to enjoy my food.

Spaghetti Aglio, Olio, e Peperoncino

7 oz spaghetti
3-5 cloves of garlic, minced. (The amount of garlic you use is entirely up to you. If you aren’t in love with garlic, and have intentions of getting laid later on in the evening, go with 3, or even 2. I am in love with garlic, and have no prospects for a lay, so I went with 5, it was good.)
1 1/2 tsp crushed chili pepper flakes
1/4-1/3 cups extra virgin olive oil (you really want good olive oil here since you are really going to taste it)
3/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Cook spaghetti according to package. You are going to want good pasta and to cook it al dente. Strain spaghetti and put in large bowl or serving dish. Top with garlic, chili pepper flakes, olive oil, salt, and pepper. Toss to combine.

And that’s it. That is all you have to do and it is so very good. The lemony brussels sprouts were a perfect partner for this, but some salad and crusty bread to mop up the olive oil would have also worked wonderfully.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

