Quinoa with black beans and corn

Standard

What should I make for dinner tonight? I had just gotten home from the gym, the kids need to do their homework, I need to do my homework, and I am not feeling great. I needed something that looked easy, would be filling and that the kids would like. This recipe has corn, my kids love corn! And they ended up loving this recipe. I pinned this recipe a few days ago and just so happened to have everything I needed to make it. Except the cilantro. It was pretty darn tasty. If I were to do it again, I would most likely saute in some jalapenos to give it more heat, and definitely go to the store to get some cilantro.

Side note: What is quinoa? Quinoa is an ancient grain, it’s not a cereal grain though. It’s also related to beets, spinach, and tumbleweeds, who knew? We eat the seeds. It is packed full of protein and fiber, so it’s super filling and a great addition to anyone’s diet, especially a vegan or vegetarian. It is really tasty and has an almost nutty tasty and great texture and is really great in salads or as a replacement for rice. How do you say quinoa? I have been trying to teach my mom how to say it for a few weeks now. It’s Keen- Wa or Ki-Nwa. Some day she’ll get it. Someday.

2 tsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped
3/4 cup uncooked quinoa
1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1 tsp ground cumin (I must remember to buy more cumin, I go through this stuff like crazy)
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste
1 cup frozen corn kernels
2 (15 oz) cans black beans, rinsed and drained or about 3 cups of cooked black beans
1/2 cup chopped cilantro (I really wish I had some)

Heat the oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the onion and garlic and saute until lightly browned.

Mix quinoa into the saucepan and mix around a beat to slightly toast the quinoa. Add in the veggie broth and seasonings. Bring the mixture to a boil. Cover; reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

Stir in the frozen corn and simmer until corn is all thawed and heated through. Mix in the black beans and cilantro and heat the beans through.

I ended up putting some fresh tomatoes on the top, as well as some cholula, I love cholula. I also served it with some tortilla chips, and ended up eating it as sort of a dip/main course and it was rather tasty. Scarlett even told me it was a really good dinner, and she is my pickiest by far and a self proclaimed “spicy vegetarian,” which she says means she doesn’t eat spicy food.

In other news, I now have my pie plate back, thanks to this blog. And I also wanted to send out a heartfelt apology to my pie server. She isn’t a trollop and wasn’t whoring around on the pie plate, she was just hiding out in the dishwasher like the good, clean, and pure girl she is.

Leave a Reply

